Reading Department

Division: Language Arts
Division Chair: Kathy Henderson
email: kathy.henderson@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5113
 
Dept Chair: Aaron Malchow
email: aaron.malchow@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5370
Counseling: 408-855-5030

 
Learning Outcomes

Upon completion of the reading course of study, students will have achieved proficiency in reading by being able to demonstrate the following learning outcomes:

  • Apply strategies to monitor and improve reading fluency.
  • Chose and apply active reading strategies to analyze and evaluate texts.
  • Develop motivation, responsibility, persistence, and critical thinking in one's own learning process.

Full Time Faculty:
 
Aaron Malchow
email: aaron.malchow@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5370 
 
Sarah Sullivan
email: sarah.sullivan@wvm.edu
tel: 408-855-5050
 
Part-time Faculty:
 
George Allen
email: george.allen@wvm.edu
 
Ina Gard
email: ina.gard@wvm.edu 
 
Sharon Smith
email: sesmith@lgsuhsd.org
 
Lisa Vasquez
email: lisa.vasquez@wvm.edu
 

Additional Catalog Information
  • Reading (Includes Reading
    Course Sequence
    2nd pg)